2021 Board of directors


President

David Kokot, P.E. 

Spokane Fire Department

dkokot@wsafm.com


1st Vice-President

Tom Maloney

Marysville Fire District

tmaloney@marysvillewa.gov


2nd Vice-President

Jon Napier

Puget Sound RFA

jnapier@pugetsoundfire.org


Board Position #1 Vacant


Board Position #2

Traci Harvey, P.E.

Spokane Valley Fire Department

harveyt@spokanevalleyfire.com

Board Position #3

Anjela Barton

Renton RFA

abarton@renton.wa.gov 


Board Position #4

Ben Shearer

Pasco Fire Department

shearerb@pasco-wa.gov


Board Position #5

Robert Ferrell

Washington State Rating Bureau

robertferrell@wsrb.com


Board Position #6

Steven Riggs

Burlington Fire Department   

stever@burlingtonwa.gov

Board Position #7

Kirsti Weaver

Puget Sound RFA

kweaver@pugetsoundfire.org


Board Position #8

Michael Six

Bremerton Fire Department

Michael.Six@ci.bremerton.wa.us


Immediate Past Pres

Jon Dunaway

Longview Fire Department 

Jon.Dunaway@ci.longview.wa.gov 


Ex-Officio Director

Chuck LeBlanc, State Fire Marshal

Washington State Patrol

Charles.LeBlanc@wsp.wa.gov


Ex-Officio Director

Steve Wright, Executive Director

Washington Fire Chiefs

Steve@WashingtonFireChiefs.org

In The Beginning

WSAFM was established in 1999 to answer concerns about duplication of efforts and confusion among Fire Prevention Officers in the State. Several organizations were in place including the WFC Fire Prevention Officers Section, Washington Fire Marshals Association, and Washington IFCI Chapter. Some familiar names were movers and shakers in the various groups: Wayne Weinholz, Jakki Maclean, Dave Lynam, Steve Barber, Ralph Johns, and Wayne Senter among them.

Ralph Johns and Wayne Senter believed the fire prevention efforts in Washington were not well served by having several different organizations vying for members and funding. They formed a plan to establish a new group to bring all three efforts into one association. Wayne and his administrative assistant prepared all of the necessary documents to form the group. Eventually, all the legacy organizations bought into the idea and the Washington State Association of Fire Marshals was born.

Wayne Weinholz agreed to serve as the first president. Additional members serving in that position to date include Dave Lynam, Greg Rogers, Jared Moravec, Todd Short, Jim Kambeitz and Dave Kokot.

The Washington State Association of Fire Marshals is actively working to improve “safety through prevention” in the great State of Washington through our affiliations and partnerships. We value your membership and participation in this organization! 

Officers - 2000

  • President - Wayne A. Wienholz, Pierce County Fire Prevention Bureau

  • 1st Vice President - Wayne Senter, Kitsap County Fire District #7

  • 2nd Vice President - Terry Thomas, Walla Walla Fire Department

  • Secretary/Treasurer - Steve Barber, Washington State Fire Marshal's Office

  • Director - Legislative Division - George Ziesemer, Olympia Fire Department

  • Director - National Codes Division - Les Townzen, Washington State Fire Marshal's Office

  • Director - State Codes Division - John P. McDonald, East Pierce Fire and Rescue

  • Director - Fire Investigation Division - Bob Lovett, Redmond Fire Department

  • Director - Prof. Development Division - Jakki Maclean, Yakima County Fire Prevention Bureau

  • Director - Fire Marshal Forum Division - David Lynam, Clark County Fire Marshal's Office

Washington State Association of Fire Marshals

Address: 605 11th Ave SE, Suite 211, Olympia WA, 98501

(360) 352-0161 email:  wsafm@wsafm.com


© 2019 Washington State Association of Fire Marshals. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software