Log in

2023 Board of directors


Tom Maloney

Marysville Fire District RFA  

1st Vice-President

Traci Harvey

Spokane Valley Fire Department

2nd Vice-President

Mike Messer

Snohomish Regional Fire & Rescue

Board Position #1 

Lori Burke

Snohomish County Fire Marshal's Office

Board Position #2

Lance Dahl

Spokane Fire Department

Board Position #3

Karen Grove

Seattle Fire

Board Position #4

Dan Young

Clark County Fire Marshal's Office

Board Position #5

Robert Ferrell

Washington State Rating Bureau

Board Position #6

Jeromy Hicks

Mercer Island Fire Department

Board Position #7


Board Position #8

Michael Six

Bremerton Fire Department

Past President 

Dave Kokot

Spokane Fire Department


Jon Dunaway

Longview Fire Department

Ex-Officio Liaison

Chad Cross, State Fire Marshal

Washington State Patrol

Ex-Officio Liaison

Bill LeMonds, Fire Chief

Cowlitz County Fire District 6

In The Beginning

WSAFM was established in 1999 to answer concerns about duplication of efforts and confusion among Fire Prevention Officers in the State. Several organizations were in place including the WFC Fire Prevention Officers Section, Washington Fire Marshals Association, and Washington IFCI Chapter. Some familiar names were movers and shakers in the various groups: Wayne Weinholz, Jakki Maclean, Dave Lynam, Steve Barber, Ralph Johns, and Wayne Senter among them.

Ralph Johns and Wayne Senter believed the fire prevention efforts in Washington were not well served by having several different organizations vying for members and funding. They formed a plan to establish a new group to bring all three efforts into one association. Wayne and his administrative assistant prepared all of the necessary documents to form the group. Eventually, all the legacy organizations bought into the idea and the Washington State Association of Fire Marshals was born.

Wayne Weinholz agreed to serve as the first president. Additional members serving in that position to date include Dave Lynam, Greg Rogers, Jared Moravec, Todd Short, Jim Kambeitz, Jon Dunaway, and Dave Kokot.

The Washington State Association of Fire Marshals is actively working to improve “safety through prevention” in the great State of Washington through our affiliations and partnerships. We value your membership and participation in this organization! 

Officers - 2000

  • President - Wayne A. Wienholz, Pierce County Fire Prevention Bureau

  • 1st Vice President - Wayne Senter, Kitsap County Fire District #7

  • 2nd Vice President - Terry Thomas, Walla Walla Fire Department

  • Secretary/Treasurer - Steve Barber, Washington State Fire Marshal's Office

  • Director - Legislative Division - George Ziesemer, Olympia Fire Department

  • Director - National Codes Division - Les Townzen, Washington State Fire Marshal's Office

  • Director - State Codes Division - John P. McDonald, East Pierce Fire and Rescue

  • Director - Fire Investigation Division - Bob Lovett, Redmond Fire Department

  • Director - Prof. Development Division - Jakki Maclean, Yakima County Fire Prevention Bureau

  • Director - Fire Marshal Forum Division - David Lynam, Clark County Fire Marshal's Office

Washington State Association of Fire Marshals

Address: 605 11th Ave SE, Suite 211, Olympia WA, 98501

(360) 352-0161 email:

© 2019 Washington State Association of Fire Marshals. All Rights Reserved.

Our Partners in Community Risk Reduction

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software